Teachers Awarded Monies from AFRL Sprout Grant

Teachers Awarded Monies from AFRL Sprout Grant
Posted on 10/01/2019
Thank You19 teachers from the Rome City School District have been awarded money for various projects thanks to the generosity of the Air Force Research Laboratory Information Directorate. In May of 2019, the Sprout Grant initiative was introduced throughout the Mohawk Valley encouraging teachers grades K-12 to apply for funding to support and get students excited about Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM). “Each teacher was required to submit a project proposal along with how the materials would be utilized from year to year, and the Rome City School District was fortunate to receive full funding for all applicants”, said Director of Fine Arts and Engineering Technology, Andrea Falvo. Falvo sad the grant was brought to her attention by Rome Research Site STEM lead, Jeffrey DeMatteis. DeMatteis has a long history of working directly with school districts to provide funding, materials, and support for a variety of STEM activities. He went on to say, “The Air Force Research Lab Information Directorate is excited that so many children in the Rome City School District will be able to expand their STEM knowledge and experience through the Sprout program. It is an honor to be able to be a positive influence on the next generation of scientists, engineers, and mathematicians.” Falvo expressed her appreciation to DeMatteis and the Air Force Research Laboratory Information Directorate for overwhelming generosity and support for the District. Projects submitted range from materials to grow plants in the classroom to an augmented reality sandbox.

Recipients include:
Roseann Francescone- Denti Elementary
Susan Alger- Denti Elementary
Josette Canarelli- Staley Elementary
Courtney Huf- Denti Elementary
Erin Summa- Denti Elementary
MaryAnn Urbanik- Joy Elementary
Sarah Kessler- Bellamy Elementary
Jill Schaal- Staley Elementary
Maura Tarbania- Ridge Mills Elementary
Leslie Lewthwaite- Denti Elementary
Christina Steurrys- Strough Middle School
Christian Arthur- Denti & Bellamy Elementary Schools
Amanda Pacicca- Bellamy Elementary
Megan Spado- Strough Middle School
Albert Bangs- Rome Free Academy
Anthony Spado- Rome Free Academy
Mark Rushton- Staley Elementary
Stephanie Paisley- Staley Elementary
Dorthea Iselo- Staley Elementary

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.